How to Open Spiritual Chakras?

Whether you have been to yoga classes, watched videos on YouTube, or have been a fan of Naruto, you must have heard of the word chakra and the importance of keeping them open. Chakras are responsible for energy flow in our bodies.

Many, even those who have heard about chakras may be unaware of what they are and how they influence their physical and mental health.

Let us look deeper and discover the ways to open your spiritual chakras and how they affect our bodies and minds.

What if We Let Our Chakra Remain Blocked?

Diane Malaspina is a yoga medicine therapeutic specialist with more than 15 years of experience. According to her, energy flow can deplete or expand, and each reveals a different outcome.

Malaspina says that an individual faces a tough time expressing the traits of a specific chakra when it is low in energy. Our physical and mental state depends on the chakra that is the most active in us. The qualities associated with an overactive chakra show in how we spend our days.

For example, the heart chakra (Anahata) is about love and compassion. If it is underactive, it will reflect in our lives as sadness and coldness, whereas too much of it will make us vulnerable.

In terms of the body, she says that an imbalanced chakra may affect the body part close to its location. Out-of-balance chakra can also lead to emotional imbalance, leading to a lack of the ability to decide or feel constant fear, sorrow, or anger.

Our chakras lose their natural alignment when overloaded with physical or mental stress. These may include unhealthy diets, poor hygiene, or negative thoughts. Extensive imbalance can result in anxiety, depression, and physical problems like joint problems and weakness.

Ways to Open Your Spiritual Chakras

The ideal method to balance chakra is to get our body to do the right things. We can achieve this with different techniques, such as meditation to clear the mind, breathing exercises to improve adequate energy flow, and yoga to align our postures.

There are seven chakras, and yoga has proven to be effective in helping align the body’s energy levels. These poses can help open our chakras.

Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)

It is the foundation chakra located at the base of the spine. It represents groundedness and safety. We block it by believing we are unsafe, neglected, and abused. The Mountain, Warrior, or Tree Pose are balancing pose that helps build a powerful connection with the body’s foundation.

Sacral Charka (Svadhishthana Chakra)

Sacral Charka (Svadhishthana Chakra)

Svadhisthana Chakra stands for creativity, trust, and intimacy. It is placed two inches south of the navel, so strengthening our pelvic floor with the Lizard, Pigeon, or Bridge Pose can work charms for us. It is usually blocked by past sexual relationship trauma, guilt, or judgment.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)

Located in the navel, this chakra is about independence, vitality, and power. So, an out-of-balance Manipura Chakra directly influences our digestive system.

Since its element is fire, we should maintain its balance with core strengthening poses like the Triangle or Boat to get those abs going and keep the fire well-lit and bright.

Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)

Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)

This chakra is the reflection of our ability to open ourselves to deeper connections. It is in the heart center, and we depict its energy with affection, compassion, and love. Often, we lack these feelings because we let overthinking and stress block them.

Opening it with the Wheel or Camel Pose can allow us to fully accept ourselves by letting go of the negativity.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha Chakra)

The Plow and Fish are efficient poses we can use to unblock our throat chakra. It represents our voice, speech, and hearing and is usually blocked by speaking-related trauma, like someone asking you to stay quiet.

On the other hand, an overflowing Vishuddha Chakra can lead to too much talking, where we fail to hear what others have to say.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra)

Ajna Chakra is between the eyes, and its element is light. Our ability to understand, wisdom, intuition, and vision are all connected to the Third Eye Chakra. If we refrain from practicing spirituality or focus too much on illusions, we block this chakra.

An unblocked chakra enables us to perceive and understand beyond illusion and connect better with the metaphysical world. The Folded Eagle and Forward Fold are great poses for this.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara Chakra)

It reflects mindfulness and balance, is blocked by ego and negative relationships, and is responsible for our connection with our inner, higher self. The Corpse Pose, traditionally called Savasana, is perfect for strengthening our crown chakra and connecting with our soul.

Final Words

Our chakras are the locations of different energy centers in the body. They run from our spinal base to the top of the head. Blocking these energies results in emotional and physical problems.

Following the above techniques and spending more time in nature can help us elevate ourselves and connect with our true selves.