Understanding Chakras: Types, Significances, and Spiritual Alignment

Our body has seven energy points (chakras) running down the spine. If you have been to yoga classes or are an avid anime lover, you are no stranger to the word chakra, and you may be aware that blocked chakra drastically affects your life. Perhaps only one of the seven has a blockage; depending on which it is, a specific aspect of your life will be affected.


Chakra: An Ancient Sacred Knowledge

The younger generation may have only heard of the word, with most unlikely bothering about it. The popularity of yoga and different entertainment programs have made it well-known in recent years, but this complex energy system existed forever.

We can trace the history of chakras in India, first occurring in the Vedas dating 1500-1000 BC. The Vedas are sacred texts rich in spiritual knowledge and allow understanding of the different energy points.


What is Chakra?

In Sanskrit, chakra means wheel and indicates spinning disks of energy in our bodies. These energy points must remain open and aligned because they are associated with vital organs, nerves, and different areas in our body and resonate with our physical and emotional well-being.

Although some say chakras are more than hundreds, we believe seven main energy points run along our spine. Each has a corresponding name, color, number, and area of the spine. Let’s look at them in detail.


Root Chakra: Stability and Physical Identity

root chakra

Color: Red

Location: Tailbone/the base of the spine

When the root chakra is blocked, we are prone to various physical problems like constipation and arthritis or emotional roughness like stressing over our health and finance. When this chakra is open and aligned, we feel stable physically and emotionally.

Shop: Activewear Fleece Hoodie: Activate Root Chakra

Sacral Chakra: Pleasure, Sexuality, and Creativity

sacral chakra

Color: Orange

Location: Above the pubic bone and below the bellybutton

If you notice organ-related problems like lower back pain, urinary tract infections, or impotency, your sacral chakra may have a blockage. Speaking about emotional problems, the sacral chakra is associated with feelings of self-worth, such as creativity and sexuality.

Shop: Women's Yoga Pants: Activate YOur Sacral Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra: Confidence and Self-esteem

solar plexus chakra

Color: Yellow

Location: The upper abdomen

You can identify blockages in the solar plexus chakra through digestive problems, such as indigestion, eating disorders, heartburns, and ulcers. Since this chakra is associated with our power, it keeps our self-esteem and confidence flowing when open and aligned.

Shop: Activewear Fleece Hoodie- Activate Your Solar Plexus Chakra

Heart Chakra: Love and Compassion

heart chakra

Color: Green

Location: Above the heart in the center of the chest

You can notice blockages in your fourth chakra- The Heart Chakra when you experience heart-related issues, weight issues, and asthma. However, the blocks manifest in your actions the most. Those with blockages in the heart chakra may feel isolated and lonely. Since it is the middle of the seven chakras, it connects the upper and lower energy centers.

Shop: Activewear Fleece Hoodie- Activate Your Heart Chakra

Throat Chakra: Communication

throat chakra

Color: Blue

Location: The throat

Located in the throat, the throat chakra is directly associated with our verbal communication ability. You likely have a block in the chakra flow if you notice problems with the area surrounding your throat, including the mouth, gums, and teeth. When you notice changes in your actions, such as difficulty communicating what is in your mind, speaking without a filter, gossiping, and trying to speak over others, this chakra may be misaligned. When the chakra is aligned, one listens compassionately and speaks confidently because they know they are true to themselves.

Shop: Men's Activewear Short Sleeve- Activate Your Throat Chakra

Third Eye Chakra: Imagination and Intuition

third eye chakra

Color: Indigo

Location: Between the eyes

The third eye chakra is also called the brow chakra. Its physical location is the head, so blockages result in headaches, hearing issues, and concentration loss. Those less in touch with their intuition, especially people who do not like listening to others and think they know everything. Upon aligning this chakra, they can realize the reality better.

Shop: Women's Yoga Pants- Activate Your Third Eye Chakra

Crown Chakra: Awareness and Intelligence

crown chakra

Color: White/violet

Location: The top of the head

The crown chakra is located in the head, so it is linked to all chakras in the body. Any blockage in this chakra means all our organs are affected. It also affects our brain and nervous system. The crown chakra regulates the flow of enlightenment and stands for our connection to our spiritual self. A block in this chakra flow is represented by stubbornness, skepticism, and narrow-mindedness. Keeping it aligned is crucial as it helps maintain all other chakras.

Shop: Activewear Fleece Hoodie - Activate Your Crown Chakra


Final Words

We may not resonate with every chakra every day. Some blockages are continuous, while others may come and go. There are specific spiritual treatments to help streamline all chakra flow. It takes effort, patience, and time. You can always realign and balance your chakra by tuning into higher frequencies. Chakra cleaning, meditation, yoga, and specific bodywork also help.